Log in

Log in


The 2023 Annual Meeting of the Society of Nematologists

Columbus, Ohio


2023 Student Travel Awards

Industry-sponsored Graduate Student Travel Awards
  • The Society of Nematologists Honors and Awards Committee anticipates giving out several student travel awards to support students presenting papers (oral or poster) during the 2023 Annual Meeting. We have a record 18 student travel awards being granted by industry sponsors this year! Bayer has committed to sponsoring 10 awards and Microbes, Inc, Certis Biologicals and Corteva have each committed to 2 awards, and the United Soybean Board has committed to 2 awards to be directed to students presenting on nematode research in soybean production.

  •  Nathan A. Cobb Student Travel Awards

  • The N.A. Cobb Foundation also anticipates granting four awards to help offset the cost of student attendance at the 2023 Society of Nematologists Annual Meeting.  For more information about Cobb Foundation awards and endowments see

All types of travel awards will be awarded out of a single pool of applications

Eligibility requirements for Student Travel Award Applicants:

  • Applicants must be full-time graduate students at the time of the meeting or have completed graduate degree requirements less than 12 months prior to the meeting.
  • Applicants are not required to be members of the Society of Nematologists.
  • Previous student travel award recipients are eligible for travel awards for this year’s meeting.


Procedure for Applying for a Student Travel Award:

  • Applying for a student travel award requires completing three steps. Applicants must 1) fully complete the online travel award application page (see below), 2) submit a cover letter and presentation abstract as a single PDF file through the  2023 Student Travel Award Application (below), and 3) submit the same abstract (no cover letter) but in word document format at the same time as submitting the travel award application materials.
  • Applicants must give a presentation or poster at the annual meeting but do not have to participate in one of the student presentation competition sessions.
  • The cover letter required for step 2 above must be no more than 1 page long and describe the student’s research and also explain why the student wants to attend the SON meeting. PLEASE MAKE SURE YOUR LAST NAME IS INCLUDED IN THE NAME OF YOUR PDF FILE SUBMISSION.
  • The abstract must follow the guidelines for the annual meeting, as described on the 2023 Annual Meeting Abstract Submission Guidelines.  NOTE: Abstracts submitted must be reviewed by two people, and submitting an abstract for the meeting requires payment of a $50 fee.
  • Students may apply for more than one type of travel award for this meeting, but will receive only one.


Criteria for selecting award recipients will include the quality of science (determined from the submitted abstract) and financial and/or scholarly need.



To Our 2023 Student Travel Award Winners:

Cobb Foundation Awards:

Alison Blundell

Yi-Chen Lee

Roshan Paudel

David Kihoro Sirengo

Bayer Awards:

Iris Aguilar

Sabina Budhathoki

Lynhe Demesyeux

Kheeman Kwon

Ching-Jung Lin

Asa McCurdy

Jacob Salu Mekidani

Lester Nunez

Gabrieli Riva

Pallavi Shakya

Microbes, Inc. Awards:

Denis Gitonga

Claire Schloemer

Corteva Awards:

Hao-yu Kuo

Melanie Pitiki

Certis Awards:

Bhupendra Bhatta

Luisa Parrado

United Soybean Board Awards:

Lauren Docherty

Monica Pennewitt

Special Thanks to our Student Travel Award Sponsors:




Society of Nematologists

1300-G El Paseo Rd  #271

Las Cruces, New Mexico 88001

 ¬©All Rights Reserved. Society of Nematologists